Laundromat

       Coming from a Mexican family and culture I’ve grown up with the idea that it is the duty of women to take care of the chores related with the house. In my home, my mom washes, cooks and cleans and my dad provides. He gets home expecting a HOME cooked, warm meal, clean clothes and sheets. This not only true for my family but also with a lot of my friends’ families that come from a Latino heritage. I’ve also grown up watching Mexican soap operas which further instill in us that women are suppose to take care of men.  Thanks to school, specially college I’ve learned that times are changing and men doing the housework has become more common. I’ve noticed this specially at the laundromat that I go to. It’s obviously common to see young men that live alone or perhaps with a girlfriend to go wash his clothes but what really surprised me to see was men washing for their whole family, specially LATINO men. I saw this man, who also looked like a bit of a gangster, washing and folding children’s clothes, women’s clothes, blankets and sheets all by himself. My mom and I were surprised and happy to see a guy doing the washing for his WHOLE family.

Leave a comment